'till the end. Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/ Sat, 16 Dec 2017 21:10:02 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, Dec 12, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-12-2017.html <p>2 miles. Wasn&#39;t planning on it. I realized with a few minutes left before my engineering fundamentals final started I left my engineering kit in my car, so I ran there and back. I&#39;d imagine either sub 6 miles, or I&#39;m very out of shape. I&#39;ll start up real running in a week or so.</p> Tue, 12 Dec 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 30, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-30-2017.html <p>4 miles of actual running. Felt good!</p> Thu, 30 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 28, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-28-2017.html <p>More walking to classes</p> Tue, 28 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 27, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-27-2017.html <p>Lots of walking</p> Mon, 27 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 26, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-26-2017.html <p>5 in the AM. Took a step and my foot hurt in the same place. Didn&rsquo;t hurt after but stopped soon after. 3 days is my usual remedy for something hurting and I only took two last time.</p> Sun, 26 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 25, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-25-2017.html <p>5 at night. Both times when my foot hurt while I was running earlier in the week it happened right about 2 miles&nbsp;in, so I was happy to get past that with no pain at all, besides stiffness from 60 hours or so of no running.</p> Sat, 25 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 23, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-23-2017.html <p>Foot started hurting right about the same distance into the run as yesterday, so I stopped and drove to the turf fields. Started the first 1000m repeat and about 200m in I realized it would probably be wise to take a day or two off so I can get rid of this annoyance. Hammered that k since it was all I was doing and ran a 2:48. Happy Thanksgiving to all bloggers.</p> Thu, 23 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 22, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-22-2017.html <p>On my morning run&nbsp;I was about 4 miles in when suddenly I felt a semi-sharp pain in the outside of my foot as I put weight on it. Luckily I was only about 3 minutes walking distance from my car, so I walked back. When I was about 50m away the pain had subsided so I tried jogging to the car and I barely felt anything, but I played it safe and ended the run there. I went grocery shopping at Aldi&#39;s and Target after and I didn&#39;t notice any foot pain when walking. I&#39;ve never been to Aldi&#39;s before; it was good. The only odd thing was you have to put a quarter deposit in a shopping cart to use it.</p> <p>PM - 3 miles on the turf field pretty easy + 400m, 200m, 200m in 73, 33, 28. Not even a trace of foot pain and I was wearing the same shoes from earlier. All I did was take an Advil before I went running. I think that was the first sub 30 200m not on a track or roads for me. Double workout tomorrow!</p> Wed, 22 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 21, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-21-2017.html <p>8 easy. Left Achilles&nbsp;felt a tiny bit tight towards the end.</p> Tue, 21 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 20, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-20-2017.html <p>8 easy.</p> Mon, 20 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 19, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-19-2017.html <p>After my last workout where I could barely run 2:40&#39;s and 32&#39;s for 800m and 200m intervals, I thought today would be terrible too. I did 2x600, 400, 300 w/ 300m rest and I wanted to hit&nbsp; 1:52, 1:52, 70, and 50, and I honestly thought that might be a stretch, with every run since the crappy workout 9 days being pretty weak, and it being super windy out. I ran 1:43, 1:40, 64, 45. I had some 200&#39;s and 150&#39;s after the 300 but I got pretty sick post-300m. I&#39;ve never thrown up during a workout, and I didn&#39;t today, but man I was close. I felt really good on these intervals, all of the splits on them were even, which I&#39;ve always had trouble doing. The first 600m felt incredibly easy, and it ended up tying my fastest 600m to date, then I laced up my spikes and ran a new fastest 600m. Part of me wanted to hammer a 58 and 42 on the 400 and 300, but I didn&#39;t want this to be a workout where I go all out. Felt great on the cooldown, my second run is in an hour or so, so I guess that will be the real test of how much I&#39;m spent.</p> <p>5 miles later. Felt good, not tired.</p> Sun, 19 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 18, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-18-2017.html <p>Haven&#39;t had anything noteworthy this week. I think I&#39;m gonna start doing my long runs on Tuesday, the longer faster running on Thursday and the shorter faster running on Sunday because all my classes next semester are on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. So, workout tomorrow! I&#39;ve felt pretty tired on every run this week, but it&#39;s due to no mileage or strength in the legs, so my fault. It usually takes&nbsp;me about three 70+ mile&nbsp;weeks to feel good so I should be in shape when winter break starts, but then I&#39;ll up the mileage again, be doing weights with Trevor, and be at 5300ft so I guess I&#39;ll feel crappy the next 6 or 7 weeks, but hopefully when I get back here I&#39;ll be very fit. Not peak fit, but a little fitter than I was this summer. Honestly, I think I was too fit then, it would have been a challenge to be in good shape 7 or 8 months out from peak racing.</p> Sat, 18 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 17, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2017.html Fri, 17 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 16, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2017.html Thu, 16 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 15, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2017.html Wed, 15 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 14, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2017.html Tue, 14 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 13, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-13-2017.html Mon, 13 Nov 2017 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 12, 2017 http://NathanGrindle.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2017.html <p>Didn&#39;t run until the afternoon because I slept in. Odd that I can finish a run at 5:20 and it&#39;s completely dark out. The inner-left area of my right ankle was sore from yesterday, I guess I haven&#39;t done too much track work lately.</p> Sun, 12 Nov 2017 07:00:00